In 1966 Dallas was a mecca for great bands and two of the best, The Exotics and The Esquires, are included on this album.  The Exotics began as a rock and roll band in 1959, but by 1966 were recording psych-pop and folk-rock gems. They released three singles, one of them, “Come With Me”,  reaching the top ten.  The Esquires formed in 1965 and recorded four singles, mixing folk-rock with a hard edged sound. The wild “Come On Come On” and “Judgment Day” are what make The Esquires legendary today.   Dallas ’66 contains all seven of The Esquires’ original songs and seventeen tracks by The Exotics, including rare radio promos and unreleased material.





Track Listings      

The Exotics

1.        Come With Me

           (Tad#2410-a) (Original Stereo version)

2.        I Was Alone


        (Tad #6701-b)


3.        Queen Of Shadows


        (Tad #6701-a)

4.        Morning Sun

(Monument #984-a)

5.        Fire Engine Red

(Monument #984-b)

6.        Hymn To Her


7.        I Was Alone

(Unreleased Version)

  The Esquires

8.         Come On Come On


        (Texan #103-b)


9.        Judgment Day


       (Glenvalley #105-b)


10.     These Are The Tender Years


                (Glenvalley #105-a)


11.     Time Don’t Mean So Much


        (Glenvalley #104-a)


12.     Loneliness Is Mine




13.     Come On Come On


               (Glenvalley#105-b) (Alternate Version)


14.     These Are The Tender Years


                (Glenvalley#105-a) (Alternate Version)

  The Exotics

15.     Hymn To Her

(Demo Version)


16.     Come With Me

(Mono version)

17.      Queen Of Shadows

(Alternate Version)

18.     Morning Sun-KBOX 11/21/66-Airplay

19.     “Come With Me” To Bill McKay Chevrolet Ad

20.     “Queen Of Shadows”-Mitchell’s Department Store Ad

21.     I Was Alone

        (Unreleased Version #2)

22.     Morning Sun

        (Production Demo)

23.     Morning Sun

       (Production Demo #1)


24.     Queen Of Shadows (band track)








Hit Counter