Only $12.98
 In 1966, four high school students from the Los Angeles suburbs formed The Human Expression, and by January 1967, their first single, “Love At Psychedelic Velocity” b/w “Every Night”, was released to an unsuspecting public. It was a dazzling, driving, opus of mind-bending sounds, and a harbinger of things to come.  Their second single, “Optical Sound” b/w “Calm Me Down”, released in the “Summer Of Love”, was a two-sided tour de force, with brooding introspective lyrics by lead singer, Jim Quarles. The Human Expression’s edgy bad boy image was the antithesis of the “flower-children” image so prevalent for  groups in 1967.

    The Human Expression’s third single was “Sweet Child Of Nothingness”, written by Mars Bonfire, who offered the band another new song, “Born To Be Wild.”  Quarles thought the lyrics trite, and since he was the lead singer, the band rejected the song, even before Steppenwolf recorded it. Nevertheless, the three singles The Human Expression released during their short-lived career, would burnish their reputation as one of the finest garage bands to emerge from the mid-60’s Los Angeles music scene. Compiled on this CD are all the surviving demos and tapes of The Human Expression, along with rare band memorabilia, and demos by Quarles from 1965 (recorded just before The Human Expression).  Pictured from left to right behind the gate,  are Jim Foster, Tom Hamilton, Martin Eshleman, and Mike Verlingieri, (from left to right in front of the gate) are Armand Poulin and Jim Quarles

             16 selections ,  5 previously unreleased!     

     `                                                                                                 1. Readin’ Your Will

                     2. Love At Psychedelic Velocity

              3.     Every Night (demo version)

4.     Calm Me Down (single version)

5.     Optical Sound (single version)

6.     Sweet Child Of Nothingness

7.     Room Of Shadows ( complete version)

8.     Calm Me Down (false start)

9.     Calm Me Down (unreleased version)

10.  Every Night (single version)

11.  Optical Sound (promo version)

12.  Calm Me Down (promo version)

13. I Don't Need Nobody

14.  I Told Her

15. Return Nevermore

16. Judgment Of Rejection

All recordings from 1965 to 1967. 






Hit Counter